NTU Logo

Incentives and Motivation for Sustainability


In partnership with Singapore's Ministries, Nanyang Technological University (NTU), our Singapore university partners and our private sector collaborators, are organising the fifth annual Singapore Sustainability Symposium (S3) in Singapore on 2-4 May 2018. The symposium has become an international platform to support sustainability and urban solutions, and highlight multidisciplinary and multistakeholder collaborations that support sustainable cities.

Our format and discussion process are organised around sessions representing the three key pillars of sustainability solutions: (Session One) Technology and Innovation; (Session Two) Laws and Governance; and (Session Three) Economics and Financial Incentives. Not only do all three pillars need to be engaged for sustainability solutions to succeed, but this also emphasizes the connections between disciplines, stakeholders, and topics.

The title of the 2018 symposium, Incentives and Motivation for Sustainability, is meant to focus S3 on innovative and effective ways to: (i) align economic and productive capacity within ecological and planetary boundaries; (ii) correct market failures by removing counterproductive subsidies, and by supporting important public and infrastructure projects; (iii) create or strengthen markets for sustainability products and solutions; (iv) nudge consumer and citizen behaviour; (v) improve participation rates in social sustainability projects and recycling programmes; and (vi) improve technology development that's both place and culture appropriate. There is also a need here for both speed and scale from all our institutional, policy, economic, and legal incentives. It's the next 30 years that matter most to avoid worst case climate change scenarios, permanent species losses, and many other irreversible cases of ecological collapse. We want to discuss how we will engage incentives and the three pillars of sustainability to meet these critical timeframes for both global sustainability solutions and for addressing critical challenges for cities.

S3 will begin on Wednesday evening (2 May) with an address by our Guest of Honour, followed by a round table discussion. The next two days (Thursday and Friday, 3-4 May) will follow a format similar to prior years: short speaker presentations (10-15 minutes each) followed by a moderated discussion to create an interactive and generative dialogue. Our local and international delegates represent many perspectives, drawn from academia, government, the private sector, and civil society. This year's S3 will again serve as early input to the World Cities Summit and Mayors Forum (Singapore, 8-12 July 2018).

Sessions (click title-bar to expand)

Session 1 - Technology & Innovation

Technology for sustainability includes engineering, infrastructure, and new products for meeting society's needs and engaging citizens, while innovation includes entrepreneurship, new management systems, and supporting beneficial market development.

Session 2 - Laws and Governance

City planners, law makers, regulatory agencies, and national policy-makers together play key roles in championing sustainable urban development and adaptation solutions that are effective, inclusive, and equitable.

Session 3 - Economics and Financial Incentives

Building prosperous economies of opportunity is a goal of sustainable development, which includes a commitment to development that is inclusive and equitable, as well as to the fundamental consideration of ecological impacts and planetary boundaries.

Scientific Advisory Board Members

Name Organisation
Choi Shing Kwok Permanent Secretary of Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources (MEWR)
Alexander Zehnder Chair, Sustainable Earth Office, and Member, Board of Trustees of Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
Anders Karlsson Vice President, Strategic Alliances, Global Academic Relations, ELSEVIER
Chew Gek Khim Executive Chairman of The Straits Trading Company Limited
Conrad Shelton Chief of Staff, Office of Edward Jung, Intellectual Ventures
Ed Gerstner Nature Research
Ernst Brugger Founding partner and the President of BHP – Brugger and Partners Ltd
Geoffrey West Distinguished Professor and Past President of Sante Fe Institute
Heng Chye Kiang Professor, National University of Singapore (NUS)
Isher Judge Ahluwalia Chair Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER)
John Keung Kam Yin Chief Executive Officer of Building And Construction Authority (BCA)
Khoo Teng Chye Executive Director of Centre for Liveable Cities (CLC)
Kiyoshi Murakami Senior Executive Advisor to City of Rikuzentakata; Special Advisor to President, Visiting Professor, Iwate University
Koh Kheng Lian Emeritus Professor at National University of Singapore (NUS)
Lam Kwok Yan Professor, Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
Lauren Sorkin Regional Director, Asia Pacific, 100 Resilient Cities
Lim Eng Hwee Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA)
Peter Ho Hak Ean Senior Advisor of Centre for Strategic Futures, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy; Chairman of Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA)
Phua Kok Khoo Founding Director, Institute of Advanced Studies, Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
Chairman & CEO, World Scientific Publishing Company Pte Ltd
Serena Kao Founder & CEO of GoPurpose
Shinan, 石楠 Vice President and Secretary General of the Urban Planning Society of China; Vice Director of the National Steering Board for Planning Education, National Commission for Planning Education Accreditation and National Board for Certified Planner System
Simon Upton Chairman and Founder of the Round Table on Sustainable Development, established by the OECD Secretary-General in 1998
Stanley Yip Centre of Urban Planning & Design, Peking University, Beijing, People's Republic of China
Victor Tay Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
  Back To Top